AI News: GPT-4o, Star Trek, Google Research, OpenAI, Drone Delivery & More

Dylan Curious here, bringing you the latest fascinating developments from the world of AI and technology.

In today's newsletter, we'll explore some amazing recent advances:

Researchers have found that AI chatbots actually perform better at math and logic problems when roleplaying as Star Trek characters. Something about the analytical sci-fi world of Star Trek helps focus the AI models. I know I'm personally going to ask my AI assistant to channel its inner Mr. Spock when helping me with my taxes this year.

Speaking of sci-fi becoming reality, a new autonomous robot has been developed that can completely refuel your car at the gas station without any human help. While incredibly impressive from a technical perspective, I can't help but feel a tinge of nostalgia for the days of full-service fill ups. At least this robot won't be expecting a tip.

In other robot news, an AI-powered Nerf gun turret has been created that can track and shoot foam darts at moving targets with unnerving accuracy. As someone who still has PTSD from childhood Nerf battles with my older brother, all I can say is I'm glad this technology didn't exist back then. Although it does give me some ideas for guarding my snack drawer...

Of course, with all these AI advancements, younger generations are getting nervous about the impact on jobs. A recent Deloitte survey found that 32% of Gen Z are concerned AI will make it harder to find employment. As a wise old Millennial, my advice is to focus on uniquely human skills that AI can't replicate, like coming up with creative excuses for procrastination.

Finally, in a story that hits close to home for me, one woman documented her quest to determine whether alluring William Morris prints she found on Etsy were genuine or AI-generated. After much sleuthing, she realized the intricate patterns were likely created by machine learning, not the famous 19th century textile designer. Having recently purchased a "genuine" Picasso from a street vendor in Rome, this really resonated with me.

There you have it, fellow knowledge seekers - a rundown of what's new and noteworthy in technology. Whether we're talking AI that's boldly going where no chatbot has gone before, or robots coming to steal our minimum wage jobs, it's certainly an exciting (and mildly terrifying) time to be alive.

I hope you found this newsletter equal parts informative and entertaining. If you did, be sure to hit that subscribe button and tune in next time. Until then, stay curious!

Warmly, Dylan Curious